Ashley County, Arkansas

County Clerk

Probate Court - As Probate Clerk maintains the following records:

Decedent Estates - Testate & Intestate Small Estate
Guardianships
Civil Commitments
Adoptions (Sealed & Confidential)

County Court
As County Court Clerk maintains the following records:

Annexations, incorporations, county purchases, proclamations, levy of taxes, board appointments, bonds, improvement districts, right of way acquisition, contracts and agreements signed by the County Judge.

Voter Registration
The County Clerk is the permanent registrar for the County.

Election Info

Accounting
The County Clerk is responsible for all Accounts  Payable, Payroll and Bookkeeping for the County.

Birth & Death Records
All birth certificates and death certificates are maintained by the State of Arkansas. You may order a copy of a birth or death certificate at Vita/Chek or call the Arkansas Department of Health at 1-800-637-9314.

You can download a birth certificate application form or a death certificate application form by going to: http//www.healthyarkansas.com/certificates/certificates.html

Lifetime Hunting & Fishing License
Arkansas Residents that have reached the age of 65 or older may apply to the Arkansas Game
& Fish Commission for a lifetime Hunting & Fishing License. Applications are available in the County Clerk's office. If you have questions please call the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission at 1-800-364-4263.

DBA
The "Doing Business Under an Assumed Name Certificate" is issued for Sole Proprietorships only. ACA 4-70-203 requires all persons conduct ing or transacting business under any name other than the real name of the individual conducting business shall file a certificate in the office of the County Clerk of the counties in which the person conducts or transacts or intends to conduct the business. All Certificates for Corporations, LLC, etc...are issued by the Secretary of State. Theses certificates are then filed with the County Clerk.Fee: $25 for original filing and $5 for each certified copy.

Voter Registration
Any person who is a citizen of the United States, at least 18 years of age before the election, with a valid ID, and registered to vote in Ashley County may vote. Convicted felons cannot vote unless their sentence has been discharged or pardoned.

Who Can Register to Vote
You must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years of age before the election; you need not be 18 at the time you register,but must be by the time you vote.

How and When to Register
The National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) has made it possible for Arkansans to apply to register to vote or change a name or address when applying for or renewing their driver's license or state identification card at the Dept. of Motor Vehicles.  A resident may register to vote in person at the County Clerk's Office or registe r to vote by mail. A pre-addressed Voter Registration Application is filled out and mailed to the Secretary of State's Office where it is then forwarded to the appropriate County Clerk. The applications are available at all participating State Service Agencies, Crossett Public Library,and Crossett Chamber of Commerce.  A resident may also download a form online at www.votenaturally.org, complete and mail to the County Clerk. To make a name or address change or if you have any questions concerning voting or voter registration call the County Clerk's office at 870-853-2020.

When Can You Vote
You must have applied to register to vote 30 calendar days prior to an election to be able to vote in that election. If you have not received confirmation from your County Clerk concerning your voting status within ten days of applying, call the County Clerk's office at 870-853-2020 immediately.

Absentee and Early Voting
You may vote by mail,using an absentee ballot, any time an election is to be held and you realize you will be unable to go to the polls. An absentee ballot may be obtained from the County Clerk's office, by mail, in person, or through a designated agent. Completed and mailed absentee ballots must reach the County Clerk's Office by 7:30 pm on Election Day.

You may also vote early at the County Clerk's Office and the Crossett Economic Development Building in Crossett up to 15 days prior to Election day.

The polls on Election Day are open from 7:30 am to 7:30 pm.